Where readers and authors come together. . . and depart friends.

Book of The Year


At the 2019 NBCC, we will honor four authors for NBCC Book of the Year in these categories:

·      Mainstream fiction.
·      Independent fiction.
·      Non-fiction.
·      Children’s book.

Our judges consist of 50 book club members from 50 different reading groups from around the country. They are excited about reading and assessing so many wonderful works.

The entries must be published between January 1, 2018 and December 31, 2018 and will be judged on quality of writing, depth of storylines, resolutions and, significantly, book club vitality. Does the book inspire invigorating book club discussion?

This award, judged by avid readers in book clubs, has become among the most prestigious literary annual honors in the country.

We will take a maximum of 15 entries per category. FIVE copies of an entered book should be sent to NBCC Foundation at NBCC Foundation, 245 N. Highland Avenue N.E., Suite 230-171, Atlanta, GA 30307. A $100 entry fee per submission is required via check or Paypal.

Deadline for submissions: December 31, 2018. Again, only the first 15 entries will be eligible.

Winners will be announced at the 2019 National Book Club Conference on Saturday, August 3rd, at the Intercontinental Buckhead hotel. Winners will receive a plaque—and notoriety as the Book of the Year from the premier organization for the most powerful resource in books, book clubs.